[Chevelle-list] Internet Scam

Jim Sullivan jsulliv4 at rochester.rr.com
Tue Jun 10 10:13:35 MDT 2008


Perhaps if our punishment system was more drastic it would discourage this type activity.  Maybe the Chinese and Muslim countries got it right.  Punishment to fit the crime. (At least from what I've heard.)  If you sin with your hands/fingers they cut them off.  If you sin with your tongue they cut it off.   Uhhhhh.  Maybe that's not such a good idea. There'd be a lot of guys on this list running around just able to utter unintelligible sounds. LOL


  
  ----- Original Message ----- 
  From: SLWeaver 
  To: The Chevelle Mailing List 
  Sent: Tuesday, June 10, 2008 10:50 AM
  Subject: Re: [Chevelle-list] Internet Scam


  Same/similar ad/scam was selling SS454 Chevelle last year...Someone ought to call and say is that a mistake, did you mean 45K, get them over excited ..then find them and put em [back] in prison

  There is no service associated with Yahoo finance that lets people buy and sell anything.

  The price is probably 4500 so they can offer to save the car for you after you make a small deposit (under an amount considered grand theft - 400?)... 

  Trace the IP address in the email, probably from other than US...




   
  SLWeaver 



  ----- Original Message ----
  From: Mikey <wrench59 at wideopenwest.com>
  To: The Chevelle Mailing List <chevelle-list at chevelles.net>
  Sent: Tuesday, June 10, 2008 9:56:03 AM
  Subject: Re: [Chevelle-list] Internet Scam

        Yeah right....E-mail back & ask if you can come & see the car in person & see what reply if any you'd get.

        -------Original Message-------

        From: Larry Hickman
        Date: 06/10/08 09:28:42
        To: Chevelle List
        Subject: [Chevelle-list] Internet Scam


        Has anyone else seen this scam in your local paper ?  A '69 Z28 Camaro w/ 85K mi. and a good pic advertised for $4500. Obviously under priced. I googled the # and the add shows up in at least 6 or 8 papers from across the country. Included is an email address that sends back a generic reply that goes as follows;

        I'm glad that you're interested in my car. The car is street legal and accurate. It comes with all the documents needed for registration, it has a clear title and it can be registered into your name at any time. I am willing to sell it for $4500 .This buy now price does include the shipping and insurance fees. I'm located in 
        Portland, OR and the car is here as well and so this is where the car will be shipped from. I've done some research and the best and fastest way I can ship it is using Hemisphere cargo Shipping Ltd which takes between 4 to 6 days to arrive at your door (door to door handling and shipping insurance fee included). I am affiliated with Yahoo! Finance where I have a purchase protection account for $ 10,000.00. This service allows us to complete this transaction in a manner that is quick and safe for both of us. It acts as a third party between seller and buyer to insure that both parties comply to transaction requirements and provides dispute resolution and mediation between parties. Yahoo! Finance is responsible to insure that both parties comply to transaction requirements. If this is ok with you please reply with your complete name, address and shipping address in your next email and let me know if you are interested in knowing more details about this purchase so that I can open a transaction case at Yahoo! Finance and move forward with this deal. 
        Thank you, 
        Dianna Carey


        JUST TRYING TO KEEP SOMEONE FROM GETTTING RIPPED OFF !

       
              
       


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://chevelles.net/pipermail/chevelle-list_chevelles.net/attachments/20080610/a277b8bb/attachment.html 


More information about the Chevelle-list mailing list