[Chevelle-list] First time selling on chevelle forum and a scam?

Rick Schaefer rickas at gmail.com
Tue Nov 6 21:45:02 MST 2007


Agree its a scam.  You could string him along & cost him money.  Have him
send the check & then play it out.  Or hit the delete key- I woulld.

On 11/6/07, Carl Ziegler <zieg72 at yahoo.com> wrote:
>
>  I totally agree with Brad on this.  I have about 35 ads on Craigslist
> alone trying to rid my life of some of my extras, mostly to buy what I need
> for my ongoing projects.  The "gooday" is the first sign.  A lot of other
> use "the item".  I just hit the delete key.  Every once in a while I will
> toy with them.  There is a false Paypal scam and US postal money order scams
> as well when they try to do it electronically.  I do not accept anything
> other than cash, the green US postal money orders that have to be purchased
> with cash or a debit card or good ole Paypal.  I have had buyers open a
> paypal account just to purchase from me across the world.  I welcome
> prospective buyers to view my e-bay feedback to let them know I am for
> real.  I would say 1 in 10 that contact me are for real and if that 1 is
> interested enough and is not a "tire kicker" whatever I am selling is sold.
> My $.02
>
> ----- Original Message ----
> From: Brad Waller <brad at epage.com>
> To: The Chevelle Mailing List <chevelle-list at chevelles.net>
> Cc: Randy S Johnson <Johnson_Randy_S at cat.com>
> Sent: Tuesday, November 6, 2007 3:52:02 PM
> Subject: Re: [Chevelle-list] First time selling on chevelle forum and a
> scam?
>
> Sorry but this is false.  The scam often involves forged cashiers checks.
> I know of cases where the bank verified the check, the money cleared, and
> then weeks later the bank found out it was a forgery.  They then took back
> all the money from the person's account.  They were out the item and had
> problems when their account ran dry and checks started bouncing.
>
> Never wire money Western Union!
>
> I have not heard of problems with Postal money orders.
>
> If you are suspicious, run.  If you want to make the sale, use Escrow and
> let them take the risk.
>
> You might want to check with the forum admin to trace the IP address of
> this guy to see if he is where he says he is.  You can ask for his phone
> number - and call it. Scammers usually disappear if you ask or provide a
> false number.
>
> Brad Waller (owner of EPage.com <http://epage.com/> classifieds since
> 1994)
>
> '66 Corvette | 327/dead | 4-speed | Wilwood Brakes | 245/45/16 BFG R1
> '67 Chevelle | ex-SS396 | 355/700R4 | F-Body Brakes | 275/40/17 Kumho MX
>
>  ------------------------------
> *From:* chevelle-list-bounces at chevelles.net [mailto:
> chevelle-list-bounces at chevelles.net] *On Behalf Of *Terry S Hodges
> *Sent:* Tuesday, November 06, 2007 12:29 PM
> *To:* The Chevelle Mailing List; The Chevelle Mailing List
> *Cc:* Randy S Johnson
> *Subject:* Re: [Chevelle-list] First time selling on chevelle forum and a
> scam?
>
>
>  Just make sure you wait for their check to clear, it doesn't matter if it
> is a cashiers check or not. Still takes three days to clear If the routing
> numbers are legit, then your bank will notify you.. A US postal order is
> better. Then you can go to the post office and see if it is legitimate or
> not when they run the numbers.
>
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
> http://mail.yahoo.com
>



-- 
Rick Schaefer
72 TPI El Camino
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://chevelles.net/pipermail/chevelle-list_chevelles.net/attachments/20071106/b53ed2f3/attachment.html 


More information about the Chevelle-list mailing list