[Chevelle-list] First time selling on chevelle forum and a scam?

Randy S Johnson Johnson_Randy_S at cat.com
Tue Nov 6 11:19:33 MST 2007


Guys,
I wanted to run something past you guys to see if you think this is a scam 
(I'm 99% sure of it).  I put an item on the chevelle classified a set of 
rear and front window trim I have.

http://www.chevelles.com/classifieds/showproduct.php?product=16963

Well I received an e-mail from "John Smith" (generic I know, but my name 
is Randy Johnson so I can't say much).  He asked about the parts and 
wanted my contact information to send me a payment and asked if I'd take 
personal or cashier's check.  I'm a trusting person so I thought I'd agree 
to a check if it clears.  I sent him everything he wanted BUT my phone 
number (I figured that wasn't nessessary to get a check).  Around three 
days later I receive an e-mail from him as stated below.

I appreciate your response towards this transaction
and i want to apologies for being late to reply your
message and i want you to know that am okay with the
item status and also the conditions of the item and
the asking price as well and note that i will be
paying with cashiers check and the check will contain
your item money and the shipment fee for the item and
you don't have to bother yourself about the shipment
of the item all you need to do is to get the cashiers
check cashed the same day you receive it and get the
shipment funds added to the check that was sent to you
wired via western union to the private shipper that
will come for the pick up of the item so kindly get
back to me with the name and address and your contact
phone number so that the payment can be issued out as
soon as possible.

Kindly get back to me at your earliest convinience.

His original e-mail:

Hello,
Goodday to you,I will like to purchase your item let
me know the condition and the final asking price and
do you accept cashier check or personal check as mode
of payment  kidly get back to me with name and address
with your phone number so that the payment will be
mail out to you.

Thsnks.

Just to give everyone a heads up his e-mail is hogas008 at yahoo.com

This just sounds too weird to me for something I was including shipping 
for.

PS~ Trim is for sale if you are interested!!!  e-mail me off list if you 
are interested.  I'm willing to trade for 70-72 drip fail chrome also! 
(Because that is what I meant to buy in the first place when I got these).

Thank You,

Randy S. Johnson
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://chevelles.net/pipermail/chevelle-list_chevelles.net/attachments/20071106/89f47868/attachment.html 


More information about the Chevelle-list mailing list